Child of the Night: The Kendra Magna Story – Chapter 4

This is chapter 4 of Child of the Night.

To read from the beginning please go to the Contents Page

Child of the Night: The Kendra Magna Story – Chapter 4

I had been spending so much time with my new friend Notzo that it was no surprise to my Mum, Lucinda,  when I invited him to her 60th Birthday celebrations at our house.

Mum aged very gracefully and she felt happy with all the she had achieved in her life so far.

She had recently been promoted to Football Superstar and had the admiration of the whole of Twinbrook as well as enough money for her not to have any financial worries for the rest of her life.

Mum insisted on an early night as she had a match the next day so she wished us both sweet dreams and headed off to her room.

This left me and Notzo alone to do as we pleased. Since night had fallen a rush of energy was coursing through my body so I suggested trying out the hot tub in the garden.

As we stripped down to our swimming clothes I couldn’t help but stare at his body. Notzo certainly did look after himself. Since arriving at our school he’d found himself excelling in athletics and had recently joined the running team. All that working out gave him a very muscular body, the sight of which took my breath away.From the way he looked at me it seemed the attraction was mutual and it wasn’t long before we found ourselves attempting to act on our feelings.

I’d never kissed anyone before and neither had he. So when we closed our eyes to kiss it was slightly miss timed and I ended up kissing his nose. But it was okay, we just giggled and tried again. It was the second time that the sparks really started to fly.

We stayed up into the early hours sitting on the grass looking at the stars. It was just before dawn when  I began to feel tired that I had to ask Notzo to leave. I think he would have stayed all night if I’d let him.

After Notzo left I climbed into bed and drifted off into a deep sleep. I was so tired that I didn’t even hear our cat Rosa mewing for her breakfast. She would have to wait until later.

When we finally did surface I decided to make breakfast for Mum while she cleaned up the previous nights’ mess. She took the opportunity to be nosy whilst we set about our tasks.

“So, are things with this boy getting serious?”

I blushed and kept my eyes on the pan I was frying our pancakes in.

“His name is Notzo Mum, and I don’t know about serious, but he has asked me to prom.”

“That’s good,” she smiled, “He can share the limo I’ve ordered to take you.”

I squealed, my Mum was full of surprises.

I was so nervous on my way to Prom, I’d never had a boyfriend before. I just hoped I wouldn’t stand on his feet when we danced.

I needn’t have worried, it was a magical night, we danced together, snuck some alcohol into the fruit punch and laughed and joked with our friends. It was a night to remember and thanks to the photographer hired by the school I had a picture to cherish forever.

After that night Notzo and I were officially dating. We couldn’t keep our hands off of each other. Even during free study periods at school, books were the last thing on our minds. Some of our friends joked that we were joined at the lips.

Mum however was less than impressed when she was called into school to discuss my falling grades. And when she caught me locked in an embrace with Notzo she instantly knew the reason why.

“Young lady, you need to get home and study right now!” She said holding back the strength of her anger in front of Notzo

Notzo realised I was in trouble and tried to placate her.

“We’re sorry Mrs Magna, if you need to take Kendra home I won’t stop you.”

Mum seemed to appreciate that but it didn’t stop her delivering a hammer blow to my social life.

“Thank you Notzo, I think you and my daughter need to take a little break, at least until your final exams are over.”

When we got home she really let loose.

“Kendra Magna this is your final term at school, please don’t throw away all of your hard work for a boy!”

I wasn’t just going to take this, she was ruining my life.

“He’s not just a boy, I love him! You wouldn’t understand you’ve never been with anyone since Dad!”

I wished I hadn’t said those words the second they came out of my mouth. I knew that my Mum and Dad still had a strange kind of relationship even if they weren’t officially together. But being banned from seeing Notzo had enraged me like nothing before.

I was still angry, but I was grounded so I had nothing better to do than throw myself into my studies under the watchful eyes of my mother.

Luckily all the hard work would soon pay off.

Thanks to my Mum’s strict routine I managed to graduate with honors. I have to admit it was one of the proudest days of my life and I have her to thank for that.

Our furious argument was forgotten in the celebration of my success and soon my 21st birthday was upon us.

Mum made sure that all of the people that mattered to me were in attendance. My aunts, uncles, cousin Clara and other cousins were all there as was Notzo and my Dad.

Little did I know that my life was about to change forever as the vampire genes from my Dad were about to come into full fruition.

Click here to read more in Chapter 5

3 thoughts on “Child of the Night: The Kendra Magna Story – Chapter 4

  1. Pingback: Child of the Night: The Kendra Magna Story – Chapter 3 | krazyangelkat81sobsessions

    • Thank you BG 🙂
      There have been little hints up til now about her vampire side but its how she deals with it from here on in that expalins how she and Clara ended up in Bridgeport together.
      Sadly I have a busy work week ahead so there may be a little pause in installments which is why I did two this weekend!

Leave a Reply

