Child of the Night: The Kendra Magna Story – Chapter 5

This is chapter 5 of Child of the Night.

To read from the beginning please go to the Contents Page

Child of the Night: The Kendra Magna Story – Chapter 5

As I prepared to blow out the candles on my 21st birthday cake all I was thinking about was what I wanted to do with my life. I had dreams of becoming a world renowned author and getting married to Notzo.  I hardly noticed that the sun was setting.

Soon the smoke from my candles with disappearing with the day and I felt a rush of energy and excitement flow through my body as a red glowing light surrounded me.

I was suddenly acutely aware of the fact that all my friends and family were around me. It was almost as if I could hear their every thought about me as I grew into an adult.

When the transformation completed I no longer cared that all eyes were on me. I felt powerful, sexy and unstoppable.

I also finally felt confident enough to seek out my Dad, Kendrick, and ask him a few questions.

“So Dad, now that I’m grown up, what does that mean for me?”

Dad smiled, it seemed he’d been anticipating this question.

“For each vampire, as that is what you now are, the experience is different but there are several things we all have in common. You will age much slower than your human friends, you will crave blood but this can be sated by drinking plasma juice and at night you might develop powers over others that you must try not to abuse.”

I took this in with wonder. I realised that my life was going to be very different from that of my peers.

To take my mind off of my worries Dad asked me to dance.

“I feel very proud of you my daughter. You have grown up well and you are now a beautiful woman. Now, let me twirl you round that dance floor.”

I giggled.

“It’s no dance floor Dad, its my front room, but I’d be honored!”

The next morning I decided that now I was a grown woman it was time that I faced the world independently.

With this in mind I told my Mum, Lucinda, that I was thinking of moving out. I wasn’t sure how she’d take it as it would mean that she would be left living alone with our six cats. I knew that crazy cat lady was not how she had ever envisioned herself.

But she was surprisingly understanding.

“Kendra honey I get it. In fact I’ve been putting some money aside from my sports career ever since you were born. I think now is the time for you to have it and use it to put towards buying a house.”

Then she pulled me into a tight hug.

“My little girl is all grown up. I’m so happy to be here to see this day.”

Using the money that Mum gave me, I got together with my best friend and cousin Clara and went house hunting. We found a little ramshackle house right on Twinbrook lake.

After a bit of negotiating we managed to secure it complete with some second-hand furniture and moved in a month later.

I got myself a part-time job at the mausoleum in order to pay the bills and support myself as I started out in my writing career. I realised that being around the dead didn’t bother me, in fact I found it quite calming.

I had however noticed that on bright sunny days I preferred being inside. The sun seemed to literally make my skin burn if I stayed out in it too long.

I ran into my Dad outside the grocery store and decided to ask him about this.

He seemed amused by my ignorance.

“Yes my sweet, it’s a price that we pay in exchange for a longer life and special powers. Too much sunlight can harm us to the point of death if we are in it for a prolonged amount of time.”

I made a mental note to myself to be more careful in future. It was a little sad as I had always enjoyed spending time outside. But there was little I could do to change it.

On a research trip to the library one evening I discovered that I could read human minds. I also realised that some humans were more susceptible to my powers than others.

In fact it seemed I could control the mind of a weak-willed older lady. I felt consumed with power and wondered what else I could do.

The only slight problem was that local paparazzi, Lincoln Wren, was also at the library.

The more I tried to use my powers the deeper I discovered they went. I could actually tell which humans would provide the most nutrients should I choose to bite them.

Intriguingly both the paparazzi and the older lady appeared to be the most nutritious people in the room.

With my blood lust awoken all I could think about was how to lure one of them to a quiet room.

I made the older lady think of me as a friend and then I called her over.

She was under my thrall and willingly offered me her wrist.

The second I tasted her blood I felt pleasure rush through me. It was the best thing I had ever tasted.

My victim willingly hugged me when it was over. I felt like I had done nothing wrong. I also felt the most alive I ever had in my whole life.

Unfortunately the paparazzi decided to follow me home. There seemed to be only one way to deal with him.

I hoped that my mind control powers would be strong enough to stop him from reporting on me. On some level I knew what I was doing was wrong but I just couldn’t seem to stop.

The next morning while Clara ate her pre-work breakfast and I worked on my first novel she questioned where I’d been the previous night.

“So, what time did you get in last night? I went to bed just after midnight but I never heard you come in.”

I shrugged.

“I don’t know, I was reading a good book at the library. I guess I lost track of time.”

Later that evening I was horrified to discover that my cover might have been blown.

In the local news there was a report that a young woman had allegedly been seen biting an older woman at the library. My actions had caught up with me and now I had some major damage control to do.

The first person I decided to set the record straight with was my Mum.

“It doesn’t mean anything it’s just paper talk, I was just hugging her I swear.”

Mum seemed sceptical.

“Okay, if you say so. Just be careful what you get up to in public in future sweetheart. I’ll pay a lawyer to sue the paper this time, but I can’t keep bailing you out.”

I exhaled in relief. I was so very lucky that my Mum loved me as much as she did. Being a vampire was trickier than I had ever imagined.

To read more click here to go to Chapter 6

12 thoughts on “Child of the Night: The Kendra Magna Story – Chapter 5

  1. Pingback: Child of the Night: The Kendra Magna Story – Chapter 4 | krazyangelkat81sobsessions

    • Hello and thank you for your comment! I haven’t actually had a lot of time to write lately as I recently got married and planing the wedding took up a lot of time. My biggest tip would be to write about the kind of character you can care about and to not be afraid of putting them in dangerous situations.

Leave a Reply

