Child of the Night: The Kendra Magna Story – Chapter 11

This is chapter 11 of Child of the Night to read from the beginning please go to the Contents Page.

Chapter 11 – Clara’s Transformation

Clara’s Perspective

I had been 40 for a week, it was a week too long.
I could feel my time on this planet dripping away whilst my body aged unstoppably.
I hadn’t achieved all I had wanted to at Bridgeport City Hall by this age.
I was desperate to stop the aging process and suddenly knew that the answer had been in front of me all along. My cousin Kendra was a natural-born vampire.

I knew that Kendra had the power to turn others, I’d seen it in action with her ex-boyfriend Notzo Curious back in our home town of Twinbrook. It had backfired with him so I knew that convincing her wouldn’t be simple. But, like I said, I was desperate.
It was time to turn on the waterworks.

“It’s over Kendra!” I wailed, “I’m never going to make it into congress!”

She looked up from the computer where she had been writing her novel for most of the day and grasped me in a hug.

“Calm down cous’ well find a way around whatever it is that you feel is blocking you career-wise.”

I almost felt guilty at this point, Kendra was my best friend in the world but she could also give me the one thing I wanted more than anything.

“it’s not fair!” I mumbled into her shoulder, “I’m 40, by the time my Dad was my age he was being taken seriously as a politician. I should have stayed in Twinbrook. Moving to the city was the stupidest thing, looks matter here just as much as ideas. My PR team told me the latest polls show that the city thinks I’m too old to be in touch with their needs! Damn bunch of ungrateful yuppies.”

Kendra was surprised by my outburst. She backed off and attempted to placate me.

“Oh come on Clara, you’ve always said those polls are joke, that they never ask a wide enough selection of people. Sit down, I’ll make you some dinner.”

Clearly the whining and tears weren’t working it was time to change tactics.

“It’s alright for you,” I shouted, “it will be many years before you start to age. You don’t know how good you’ve got it. I’m becoming a dried up old prune and you still look the same as you did at 21!”

It was the killer blow. I knew Kendra felt sensitive about her condition. The problem with knowing each other so well was that we knew exactly what to say to each other to push each others buttons.  It was awful of me but necessary.

Kendra stormed upstairs to her room. I gave her a few minutes to calm down before following her.

“I’m sorry Kendra, I shouldn’t have lashed out like that. It’s just the older I get the more invisible I feel in public. People don’t look at me the way they used too. I know I’m still a good-looking woman, but I’m no longer young and the population of Bridgeport seems to get younger every year.”

She sighed, clearly uncomfortable with the conversation.
“It’s okay Clara, I get it. I just think maybe it’s time that I got my own place. It hard for you to come home and see me looking the way I do. I get that.”

That was not the outcome I was looking for. I needed her.

“I know how to fix it. I want you to turn me before I get any older.”

Kendra was not at all sure that she wanted to do this. I was relying on her love for me overcoming her hesitation.

My faith and persistence eventually paid off. Kendra couldn’t stand seeing me unhappy.
She took hold of my wrist and sank her teeth in. I felt drunk on the power of that bite.

___________________________________________________________________

Kendra’s Perspective

Somehow Clara had talked me into turning her.
It wasn’t something I’d done willingly, as I knew that every person turned with a bite had a 50/50 chance of also receiving a negative personality overhaul.
But I had never seen Clara so desperate, and knowing I was the only one who could solve her problem gave me a delicious taste of power.

Once it was done Clara’s mood lifted immeasurably.

“Thanks so much Cous’ you won’t regret this I swear it. Me and you really will run this town now!”

I hugged her, hoping and praying inside that she was right. I really hoped I wouldn’t regret this the way I regretted turning my childhood sweetheart Notzo.

My nerves were on edge and I needed calming down. There was only one person capable of doing that my sort-of-boyfriend Eb Clavier. I called him and he was more than happy to come straight around.

His smile melted my heart and stopped the adrenalin racing around my body. Yet the fact that he was so pleased to see me again made my heart skip a beat.

Eb could tell that I was upset about something and soon had his arms around me. Nothing in this world could have made me feel happier at that moment.

“Thank you for coming Eb, it means so much to me that you are here. I think I may have done something very stupid today.”

He stroked my hair and held me tighter.
“Whatever it is Kendra, I’m sure it’s not as bad as you think.”

Just for a second I wanted to believe him.

I suddenly felt very tired. The emotional rigor of the day had worn me out.

Eb didn’t ask anything of me, he simply held me close as we slept that night.

The next morning I was determined to make it up to him.

We spent the morning in my room making love over and over again. I really couldn’t get enough of this man.

Even when we finally managed to put on some clothes to say goodbye we couldn’t keep our hands off of each other.

I decided to spend the rest of my day working on my projects.

I utilized my afternoon painting, it was a good sideline that brought in a few pennies from the rich folks that commissioned my services.

I then settled down to concentrate on my novel.

The Girl With Diamond eyes was close to completion and I was excited about submitting it to the publishers. They had read and approved that first few chapters and I finally felt as if my dream of becoming a writer was coming to fruition.

I didn’t move from my computer until Clara returned home from work later that evening.
She looked a little worse for wear. I knew it was the effects of the transformation on her body. She would soon be a full vampire.

With this in mind I decided to go grocery shopping for Plasma Juice and Plasma Fruit. The only kinds of food specially made for vampires like me.

I hoped to train vampire Clara into good habits to stop her from turning evil like Notzo had.

___________________________________________________________________

Clara’s Perspective:

After work the next day I wasn’t feeling to good. I decided to take myself off to the hospital for a check up rather than worry Kendra with my hypochondria.

I parked my motorbike and ran to the front desk. I could actually feel my blood burning in my veins, it was disconcerting to say the least.

Just as I reached the front door the feeling within me stalled my movements.

The boiling of my blood abated but I felt the heat shoot out of my eyes and I seemed to be levitating!


I don’t know what I had expected but the change had happened much faster than I had thought it would.

Just like that, I was now a fully fledged vampire. I could feel the physical power creep through my body and all of my senses seemed to be heightened. It didn’t escape my notice that the transformation had happened just as night fell over the city.

When a young and fit woman walked past me, my eyes were irresistibly drawn to the veins in her neck.

Consumed by blood lust it took me a while to realise she was TV fitness guru Moxie Logan.

I decided to put my new-found powers to the test.

I read her mind to learn her traits and I made her think of me as a friend.  It was so effective that we were soon chatting away like life long buddies.

Why on earth didn’t Kendra use her powers more often? They were so useful!

After talking with Moxie for a while I decided to head home to tell Kendra the good news.

I realized I didn’t need my motorbike much, I could run at the speed of light!

___________________________________________________________________

Kendra’s Perspective:

When I returned from the grocery store I was greeted by the newly vamped version of my cousin. I could tell she was enjoying the new experience.

“Kendra, look, it happened! Now I’m just like you! I’ve haven’t felt this good since I was captain of the cheer leading squad at school!”

I had to smile, her happiness and excitement was such a turn around from the cloak of misery she’d been wearing before now.

“That’s great Clara, I’m truly thankful that it has all gone well. Now I have a treat for you. time for you to learn the wonders of synthetic Plasma!”

I pulled two Plasma Fruits from my shopping bag and handed one to her.

She eagerly bit in savouring the sweet if slightly metallic flavour.

Afterwards she grabbed me for an enthusiastic hug.

“Thank you so much Kendra, you’ve given me the greatest gift in this world!”

I laughed.
“I wouldn’t go that far Cous’. But I’m just pleased you are happy and not evil.”

Everything seemed to be working out just fine.

End of Chapter 11

Click HERE to read Chapter 12

10 thoughts on “Child of the Night: The Kendra Magna Story – Chapter 11

  1. Pingback: Child of the Night: The Kendra Magna Story – Chapter 10 | krazyangelkat81sobsessions

    • Thank you Linda – I have an idea where I want to go with Clara but haven’t fleshed out the details yet. Lets just say it will be exciting but not so good for our lovely Kendra. 😉

  2. This chapter was great!
    I love the way you switch perspectives it really brings the characters to life! I hope the transformation helps Clara, I have a feeling things may not stay so great for the two of them!

    • Thank you Claire 🙂
      I’m starting to think I should have called it the Kendra and Clara Magna story. lol
      Seriously though, your feeling might be on track, Clara’s ambition has become her undoing 😉

Leave a Reply

